National School Breakfast Week

 

Next week, March 4-8,  is National School Breakfast Week.

Here is the special breakfast menu for the week in our cafeteria.

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on National School Breakfast Week

Here’s what’s new from the Learning Commons

Author Jarrett J Krosoczka is coming to CSES in April!! 

screen-shot-2017-01-25-at-9-58-48-am

He is the author/illustrator of a variety of children’s books including the pictured novels and graphic novel. Click here for the order form to pre-order any of his books for autographing when he’s here on April 5, 2017. There will not be books available for purchase the day of the visit. All books must be ordered in advance.

 

Winter Reading Challenge – Mrs. Merritt is challenging all students to read in lots of fun ways for 15 minutes a day. Students will choose a square on the reading form each day, write the title of the book they read, the date, and get it signed by an adult. Mrs. Merritt will have a dessert for all students who turn in a completed form by Friday, March 3.   Click here for the Winter Challenge Reading Form. The form will also be included in the February newsletter.

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Here’s what’s new from the Learning Commons

CSES iPad Ensemble will play National Anthem at USC basketball game

screen-shot-2017-01-24-at-3-03-25-pm

 

Our 5th grade iPad ensemble will be playing the national anthem (yes, on iPads!!) before the Gamecock men’s basketball game vs. Georgia. The game is at 2:00 on Saturday, Feb. 4.

Click the link below for more information and the link to pre-order tickets for the special price of $10 for the game for our CSE school family.

USC basketball game flyer

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on CSES iPad Ensemble will play National Anthem at USC basketball game

What’s coming up soon

coming-soon

**Our kindergarten student leadership team is still collecting cold weather clothing items. Boxes are in Capital Square.

Wed, Feb. 1 – Collaborative Planning Day –                              Early dismissal @ 11:40

Sat, Feb. 4 – 2:00 – iPad Ensemble playing the national anthem at the USC men’s basketball game

Valentine Gram flyerFeb. 7-14, our 5th grade Student Leadership Team will be selling Valentine Grams in Capital Square and the Purple Hall for $.50 each to raise $$ for Relay for Life. Link to flyer

Tues, Feb. 7 – Interim Reports go home

Thurs, Feb. 9 – PTO Skate Night 5K-2nd

Thurs, Feb. 16 – PTO Skate Night – 3rd-5th

Fri, Feb. 17 – NO SCHOOl for Students

Mon, Feb. 20 – Regular day of school for students

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on What’s coming up soon

November news

november

Tues, Nov. 8 – Election Day – NO SCHOOL

Fri, Nov. 11 – Veterans Day program – Veterans Day CSES flyer 2016                            Family member Veterans,  meet in the Learning Commons by 7:30 am.

Tues, Nov. 15 – Variety Show auditions

Wed, Nov. 16 – Interim reports come home

Wed. Nov. 16 – Moe’s in Lexington dine-out night

Thurs, Nov. 17 – Fundraiser pick up

Fri, Nov. 18 – PTO Family Movie Night – 6-8 pm – Zootopia

Wed, Nov. 23 – Fri, Nov. 25 – Thanksgiving breakbookdrive

All month we are collecting “new and gently used” books to help add more books to our classroom libraries at CSE. Click for more info – 2016 Book Drive Flyer

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on November news

Calendar changes

Because of our days off last week, there are some changes to the calendar:

Thursday, Oct. 20 – 3:00-6:00pm and Friday, Oct. 21 Parent Conferences. Please look out for communication from your child’s teacher about the status of your conference.

Thurs, Oct. 20 – Report Cards will still be sent home.

Friday, Oct. 21 – is no longer a parent conference day. It is a regular day of school to make up one of the days that we missed last week.

Wed, Dec. 7 – will NOT be a Collaborative Planning/Early Release day. It will be a regular day of school for all students and teachers.

 

 

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Calendar changes

Here’s what’s happening in October

october-eventsThursday, Oct. 13 – 6:00-7:30  Superhero Literacy/Math/Technology Game Night Click for the flyer: Superhero Game Night

Thursday, Oct. 13 –  End of 1st nine weeks

Thursday, Oct. 20 – Report Cards go home

Thursday, Oct. 20 – Parent/Teacher Conferences from 3:30-6:00.

Friday, Oct. 21 – No school for students. Parent/Teacher Conferences from 8:00-12:00. screen-shot-2016-10-04-at-10-35-23-am

Monday, Oct. 24 – Friday, Oct. 26 – Red Ribbon Week

Wed, Oct. 26 – Collaborative Planning.          Early Dismissal @ 11:40 am.

Wed. Oct. 26 – 6:00-9:00 – Zaxby’s Red Bank dine out night.

Thursday, Oct. 27 – Picture Re-take Day

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Here’s what’s happening in October

Important Upcoming Dates

Slide1

Thurs, Sept. 15 – Interim Reports go home

Thurs, Sept. 15 – Grandparent breakfast for last names A-K

Friday, Sept. 16 – Grandparent breakfast for last names L-Z

Wed, Sept. 21 – Early Release Day (students dismissed at 11:40)

Thur, Sept. 22 – Chick-fil-a biscuit fundraiser during morning drop-off

Fri, Sept. 23 – PTO Bingo Night  6:00-7:30 pm

Fri, Sept. 23 – Fall fundraiser begins

Thurs, Sept. 29 – Picture Day

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Important Upcoming Dates

Grandparent Breakfast

GrandparentsBring your Grandparent to school for breakfast!

Students with last names A-K are invited to come for the Grandparent breakfast on Thursday, Sept. 15.

Last names L-Z are invited to come on Friday, Sept. 16.

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Grandparent Breakfast

Back to School night drop-in

Back to School graphic

Parents and Students are invited to come to school on Thursday, August 11 from 4:30-6:30 to and find their classrooms, meet their teachers, and bring in their school supplies.

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Back to School night drop-in